Skip to main content

Occupation: Earth Scientist

(Geologist, Geophysicist, Geoscientist)

Program: Bachelor of Science with Major in Earth Sciences

Institution: Memorial University of Newfoundland (St. John’s Campus)
Duration: Four years (common first year, specialization in years two to four)

Entrance Requirements:

  • Students must meet the general entrance requirements for Memorial University.
  • Upon successful completion of the first semester courses in all five first year subject areas (English, Chemistry, Math, Physics and Earth Sciences), a major can be declared in Earth Sciences
  • Students with 80% or higher in Earth Systems 3209 are eligible to receive credit for Earth Sciences 1000.

Program Description:

Geologists, geophysicists and geoscientists begin with a university degree in Earth Sciences.  The Earth Sciences department at Memorial University is one of the largest in Canada.

The first two years of the degree program include courses from Earth Sciences and from other science disciplines. In the last two years, students specialize in one of five concentration areas, or streams.  These streams include sedimentary basins, applied geophysics, petrology, environmental geoscience or a comprehensive stream.


Graduates of this program receive a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree with major in Earth Sciences.  The general B.Sc. program has 25 courses in Earth Sciences.  The honours program has 32 Earth Science courses.

Earth Science graduates may register as a Professional Geoscientist (P.Geo.) with the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (CCPG) or the provincial equivalent Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL).